In December 1871 the church was substantially damaged by a fire, but it was rebuilt the following year. Architect and Presbyterian Alex B Wilson designed some improvements to the church in 1897, and the church was further enlarged in size over several years to 1914.
In 1936, a two-storey extension was designed by DFW Roberts for the purposes of providing a hall and office space for the Presbyterian Church in Queensland. Here is a photograph of the two buildings, date unknown.
During an expansionary phases in the sixties, Brisbane City Council wanted to buy the property to add to King George Square, but community pressure saw that threat off.
We haven't been so lucky lately however. The church is heritage listed, but the adjoining hall and offices has been sacrificed for a new steel and glass tower, albeit the church hall and offices will be located there. The little church building is now almost surrounded by these soulless monstrosities. Here is a recent photograph of the front of the church with its symmetrical double-door entry and vertical stained glass windows topped by a rose window.
The church's web pages say that it can accommodate up to 300 worshippers, so the interior is larger than this view of the building would suggest. The church boasts that Dame Nellie Melba was married here in 1882, not in the church but in the adjoining manse.
Click here for a Google Map.